Gothic

For quite sometime I’ve been thinking about the direction I want to take my writing. My passion has always been to write, but I also want to make a decent paycheck. My Christian conscience whispers to me that I can’t do that without resorting to writing erotica, or a sex filled romance, just to get my foot in the door. If “Fifty Shades of Grey” is any indication, that’s what readers want.

I can sense non-Christian eye rolls all over the planet. But I don’t want to write in those genres, so I guess I’ll have to do it the hard way.

I love the paranormal, but Christians tend to frown on that too. I once had a woman in the neighborhood, who found out I’d written “Moon of Little Winter” a paranormal romance about witches, tell my mother not to allow me to write such evil things. The book was not even remotely evil (though it does have a sex scene or two in it).

Today I stumbled across a gothic novel and remembered how much I used to enjoy them. They are clean reads with just enough of a mysterious and ghostly atmosphere to keep you engaged. Christians may still frown on the paranormal aspects of the novel, but there are things in this world that go bump in the night, and you’d do well to find out what those things are to ready yourself for battle.

Look for a gothic novel from my mighty pen, coming soon …

4122b4096aead65abb90b786f606d983--dark-gothic-gothic-art

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑